Embird Embroidery Software
Upgrade
Upgrade 2018

Plug-In Iconizer

Ce tutorial explique comment utiliser le plug-in  Iconizer .Le plug-in  Iconizer  fonctionne en relation avec l'explorateur de Microsoft® Windows® ,  qui est présent dans toutes les installations des versions de Windows  95 et supérieure. Le principe de l'Iconizer est simple: Normalement, quand vous lancer l'explorateur et que vous n'utilisez pas ce plug-in, chaque fichier de motif est représenté par un "type" d'icone universel (image No. 1). La version enregistrée du plug-in Iconizer affichera un petit icone du  motif  (image No. 2). Ceci vous permet d'explorer et trier vos motifs facilement, car vous pouvez voir le contenu de chaque fichier pendant que vous utilisez toutes les remarquables fonctions de l'explorateur de Microsoft® Windows®.

Image No.1              Image No.2

Embird Tutorial - Plug-In Iconizer                 Embird Tutorial - Plug-In Iconizer

Note: le plug-in Iconizer  ne supporte que les formats de fichier supportés par le logiciel Embird.

Lisez le guide ci dessous pour savoir comment installer et utiliser le plug-in Iconizer:

1 - Le fichier d'installation du plug-in Iconizer  est contenu dans celui de Embird Plus , aussi il n'y a pas de fichier spécial à télécharger.Pendant le processus d'installation de Embird la boite de dialogue suivante apparaîtra a l'ecran  (Image No. 3). 2 - Choisissez  "Unused" et décochez la case  "Enable Iconizer" . cliquez sur le bouton "OK" pour terminer l'installation.

Image No. 3

Embird Tutorial - Plug-In Iconizer

3 - Lancez  "Embird" et cliquez sur le menu "eXplorateur" menu. Ceci lancera l'explorateur de  Microsoft® Windows®. 4 - Dans l'Explorateur,  recherchez le répertoire contenant des motifs, par exemple  C:\EMBIRD32\FILES. Ce répertoire contient quelques motifs gratuits DST, et parce que l'installation à intégrée l'extension  DST avec un lien vers Embird, les motifs ressembleront à ceux de l'image No.4 . Le plug-in Iconizer est désactivé, parce que nous avons choisi cette option dans l'étape 1.

Image No. 4

Embird Tutorial - Plug-In Iconizer

5 - Fermez l'explorateur de Windows. 6 - Dans Embird, cliquez sur le menu "Options" et choisissez  la commande "Réglage de l'Iconiseur" . Une boite de dialogue apparaîtra à l'écran  (Image No. 5). Vous verrez qu'il y a deux listes d'extensions dans cette boite. La première  liste vous permet de choisir quels fichiers pourront être Ouvert dans Embird quand vous ferez un double clic sur eux dans l'explorateur. La seconde liste vous permet de choisir quels fichiers seront  capturés par l'Iconiseur. Dans l'exemple de l'image No. 5, Le fichiers .HUS seront affichés comme des icônes dans l'Explorateur , mais un double clic sur un fichier .HUS ne l'ouvrira pas dans Embird. Si il existe une autre application associée avec l'extension .HUS dans votre ordinateur (par exemple Husqvarna Customizing ), le motif sera ouvert dans cette application après un double clic dans l'explorateur. Pour activer l'Iconizer pour tous les formats supportés, cliquez sur le bouton "Sélectionner tout (Active l' Iconiseur pour tout)" situé en dessous de la seconde liste d'extensions. Cliquez sur le bouton "OK" pour confirmer les réglages, ceci fermera la boite de dialogue.

Picture No. 5

Embird Tutorial - Plug-In Iconizer

7 - Cliquez sur le menu "eXplorateur" pour le lancer à nouveau. 8 - Dans l'explorateur, recherchez à nouveau le répertoire C:\EMBIRD32\FILES. Maintenant le plu-in Iconiseur est activé et les motifs ressembleront à ceux de l'image No. 6.

Note: Vous devez acheter et enregistrer la copie du plug-in Iconiseur, si non, seuls quelques icônes afficheront le contenu des fichiers. Tous les autres seront affichés avec le type d'icône universel. (Image No. 7). Vous pouvez acheter le plug-in Iconiseur a l'adresse register.htm. Utilisez le menu  "eXplorateur"  pour entrer le numéro d'enregistrement . Il s'affichera une boite de dialogue vous permettant de taper ce numéro.

Image No. 6

Embird Tutorial - Plug-In Iconizer

Image No. 7

Embird Tutorial - Plug-In Iconizer

9 - Quand vous déplacez le curseur sur des motifs dans l'explorateur, et que vous appuyez sur le bouton droit de la souris , un menu contextuel apparaît (Image No. 8).Il y a quatre commandes disponibles - "Ouvrir", "Imprimer", "Convertir" et "Éditer". Vous pouvez choisir n'importe lequel d'entre eux pour effectuer l'opération dans Embird. Dans le cas ou vous avez activé l'Iciniseur pour ce format de fichier, vous verrez aussi une image du motif dans le menu contextuel. La taille de l'image peut être modifiée dans le menu  "Options -> Réglage de l'Iconiseur " de Embird (Image No. 5).

Image No. 8

Embird Tutorial - Plug-In Iconizer

Astuce:

1 - Utilisez le mode d'affichage "Grand Icones" pour obtenir le meilleur résultat , si non l'icone est trop petit . Dans l'explorateur, cliquez sur la commande "Affichage -> Grand Icone"  (Image No. 9). Notez aussi que vous pouvez avoir des icones plus grand : Specifiez la taille dans la boite de dialogue "Réglage de l'iconiseur"  (Image No. 5). La taille par défaut est 32.

Image No. 9

Embird Tutorial - Plug-In Iconizer

2 - Dans Windows ME, 2000 et XP il y a un autre mode d'affichage disponible dans l'explorateur: "Miniature" (Image No. 10). Choisissez ce mode en utilisant la commande "Affichage -> Miniature" dans l'explorateur (Image No. 9)

Image No. 10

Embird Tutorial - Plug-In Iconizer

3 - Les utilisateurs enregistrés du plug-in Iconiseur peuvent aussi avoir la possibilité d'afficher les motifs dans la boite "Fichiers" située dans le panneau de droite de Embird. (Image No. 11). Utilisez la case à cocher au dessus de la boite "Fichier" pour disposer de cette option, ou la commande "Prévisualisation" dans le menu "Fenêtre de droite" .

Image No. 11

Embird Tutorial - Plug-In Iconizer

4 - Si vous possédez le même motif dans différents formats de broderie, vous aurez besoin de savoir l'extension du fichier pour être capable de le reconnaître. (Image No. 12). Dans l'explorateur cliquer sur "Outils ->  Options des dossiers" . Cela fera apparaître une boîte de dialogue . (Image No. 13). Choisissez l'onglet "Affichage" et décochez  "Masquer les extensions des fichiers dont le type est connu". Il est quelque fois pratique de décocher  "Mémoriser les paramètres d'affichage de chaque dossier" , spécialement dans le cas ou vous utilisez le mode d'affichage "Miniatures" dans l'explorateur et que vous explorez beaucoup de répertoires.

Image No. 12

Embird Tutorial - Plug-In Iconizer

Image No. 13

Embird Tutorial - Plug-In Iconizer

Back to Embird Tutorial Contents

Embird Embroidery Software
Upgrade 2017

Iconizer Plug-in

This tutorial explains how to use the Iconizer plug-in. Iconizer plug-in works together with Microsoft® Windows® Explorer, the application which is present in every installation of Windows version 95 and above. The principle of Iconizer plug-in is simple: Normally, when you run Explorer and you are not using the Iconizer plug-in, each design file is represented by universal "type" icon (Picture No.1). Registered Iconizer plug-in will show a small icon of the design contents instead (Picture No. 2). This allows you to browse and sort your designs easily, because you can see the contents of each design file while using all the great features of Microsoft® Windows® Explorer.

Picture No.1              Picture No.2

Embird Tutorial - Iconizer Plug-in                 Embird Tutorial - Iconizer Plug-in

Note: Iconizer plug-in supports only those embroidery formats and image formats which are supported in Embird software.

Please read the guide below to find out how to install and use the Iconizer plug-in:

1 - The installation file for Iconizer plug-in is contained in Embird setup file, so there is no special file to be downloaded. During the Embird setup process, the "Shell Integration Setup" dialog box will appear on the screen (Picture No. 3).

2 - Choose "Unused" option and switch off the "Enable Iconizer" box. Hit "OK" button to finish the installation.

Picture No. 3

Embird Tutorial - Iconizer Plug-in

3 - Run "Embird" and click on the "eXplorer" menu. This will launch Microsoft® Windows® Explorer.

4 - In Explorer, browse to the folder with the designs, e.g. to "C:\Program Files\EMBIRD32\FILES" folder (or into "C:\EMBIRD32\FILES" folder if you use version prior to Embird 2006). This folder contains some free DST designs, and because the setup have integrated the DST extension to shell with a link to Embird, the designs will look like those on Picture No.4. The Iconizer plug-in is disabled now, because we have chosen this option in step 1.

Picture No. 4

Embird Tutorial - Iconizer Plug-in

5 - Close the Explorer window.

6 - In Embird, click on "Options" menu and choose the "Iconizer Settings" command. A dialog box will appear on screen (Picture No. 5). You will see that there are 2 lists of extensions in this box. The first list allows you to choose which files should be open in Embird when you double-click on them in Explorer. The second list allows you to choose which files will be handled by Iconizer. In the example on picture No. 5, the .HUS files will be shown as icons in Explorer, but the double-click on .HUS file will not open the file in Embird. If there is some other application associated with .HUS extension on your computer (e.g. Husqvarna Customizing Software), the design will be open in this application after double-click in Explorer. To enable Iconizer for all supported formats, click on "Select all (Enable Iconizer for all)" button located below the second list of extensions. Hit "OK" button to confirm the settings, this will close the dialog box.

Picture No. 5

Embird Tutorial - Iconizer Plug-in

7 - Click on "eXplorer" menu to launch the Explorer again.

8 - In Explorer, browse to the "C:\Program Files\EMBIRD32\FILES" folder again (or browse into "C:\EMBIRD32\FILES" folder if you use version prior to Embird 2006). Now the Iconizer plug-in is enabled and the designs will look like those on Picture No. 6.

Note: You must purchase and register the copy of Iconizer plug-in, otherwise only several icons will be showing designs contents. All the others will display the universal "type" icon (Picture No. 7). You can purchase the Iconizer plug-in at http://www.embird.net/sw/embird/register.htm. Use the "eXplorer" menu to enter the registration number into the Iconizer . This will display a dialog box allowing you to type in the registration number.

Picture No. 6

Embird Tutorial - Iconizer Plug-in

Picture No. 7

Embird Tutorial - Iconizer Plug-in

9 - When you move the mouse cursor to some of the designs in Explorer, and you depress the right mouse button, the popup menu will appear (Picture No. 8). There are four commands available - "Open", "Print", "Convert" and "Edit". You can choose any of them to launch Embird and perform the operation. In case you have enabled the Iconizer for this design format, you will also see the design image in the popup menu. The size of this image can be changed in "Options -> Iconizer Settings" menu in Embird (Picture No. 5). The Iconizer in popup menu can be disabled by unchecking the "Enable Images in Popup Menu" option in "Iconizer Settings" menu (see Picture No. 5 above).

Picture No. 8

Embird Tutorial - Iconizer Plug-in

Troubleshooting: Please see also FAQ regarding Iconizer at http://www.embird.org/faq.htm#Embird

Tips:

1 - Use the "Icons" view mode to obtain the best results, otherwise the icons are too small. In Explorer, click on "View -> Icons" command. (Picture No. 9). Please note that you can have also larger icons: Specify the icon size in "Iconizer Settings" dialog box (Picture No. 5). The default size for large icons is 32.

Picture No. 9

Embird Tutorial - Iconizer Plug-in

2 - In Windows ME, 2000 and XP there is another view mode available in Explorer: "Thumbnails" (Picture No. 10). Choose this mode using the "View -> Thumbnails" command in Explorer (Picture No. 9). The Iconizer in "Thumbnails" view mode can be disabled by unchecking the "Enable Thumbnails" option in "Iconizer Settings" dialog box (see Picture No. 5 above).

Picture No. 10

Embird Tutorial - Iconizer Plug-in

3 - In Windows 2000 and XP there is another view mode available in Explorer: "Tiles" (Picture No. 11). Choose this mode using the "View -> Tiles" command in Explorer (Picture No. 9).

Picture No. 11

Embird Tutorial - Iconizer Plug-in

4 - Another view mode available in Windows XP is "Details". Make sure the "Enable Columns" option is set to ON in "Iconizer Settings" dialog box (see Picture No. 5 above) and in Explorer select "View -> Choose Details" menu. (Picture No. 12). The "Choose Details" dialog box will appear on the screen, in which you can select which columns are visible in "Details" view mode. Check ON the  "Design Information" option at the end of the list (Picture No. 13) and confirm the new settings by clicking OK button. Finally, select "View -> Details" menu to switch the view mode. Note the last column showing the design properties - its size, stitch count and number of colors (Picture No. 14).

Picture No. 12

Embird Tutorial - Iconizer Plug-in

Picture No. 13

Embird Tutorial - Iconizer Plug-in

Picture No. 14

Embird Tutorial - Iconizer Plug-in

5 - Registered users of Iconizer plug-in can also allow displaying of design icons in "Files" box located on right panel in Embird. (Picture No. 15). Use the small check-box above "Files" box to allow this option, or the "Preview Files" command in "Right Panel" menu.

Picture No. 15

Embird Tutorial - Iconizer Plug-in

6 - If you have the same design stored in different embroidery formats you may need to know the file extension to be able to recognize its format (Picture No. 16). In Explorer, click on "Tools -> Folder Options" command. This will bring up a dialog box. (Picture No. 17). Choose the "View" tab and uncheck the "Hide file extensions for known file types". Sometimes it might be suitable also to uncheck the "Remember each folder's view settings" option, especially in case you use the "Thumbnails" view mode in Explorer and you are browsing through many folders.

Picture No. 16

Embird Tutorial - Iconizer Plug-in

Picture No. 17

Embird Tutorial - Iconizer Plug-in

7 - When you right click on design in Explorer and choose "Properties" item (Picture No.18), a dialog box will be displayed with new tab - "Embird Iconizer". This new sheet will contain the design image (Picture No.19). The "Embird Iconizer" tab sheet can be disabled by unchecking the "Enable Property Sheets" option in "Iconizer Settings" dialog box (see Picture No. 5 above).

Picture No. 18

Embird Tutorial - Iconizer Plug-in

Picture No. 19

Embird Tutorial - Iconizer Plug-in

Back to Embird Tutorial Contents